Wirral Council
On this page

Getting information from the Council

The Council website
The website can be difficult to navigate, and the search facility does not always give you what you want. If you want to try and find something on the Council website, use the Google 'search website' facility: in the Google search box, type the term(s) that you want to search and add 'site:wirral.gov.uk'. Google will restrict its seach to the Wirral Council website.

How to contact the Council: Go to the Council's contact us page.

Request regular updates from Wirral Council on relevant projects via
  • go to www.wirral.gov.uk
  • Select "Meetings and Minutes" from right panel
  • Select "Forward plans" from left panel
  • Scroll down to the item "Regeneration of Hoylake & West Kirby" (about number 64)
  • and/or the item "The 'Sail'" (about 65)
  • and/or the item "Hoylake Golf Resort" (about 73)
  • Select "Subscribe to updates" - you will be asked to log in (or register if not registered already).
The you will receive emails about these projects when decisions are imminent.

The Council's Constitution: Go to http://democracy.wirral.gov.uk/ecCatDisplay.aspx?sch=doc&cat=12881&path=0

The Council's Publication Scheme: Go to www.wirral.gov.uk/LGCL/100004/200031/722/PublicationScheme.pdf

Local Councillors

The Councillors for Hoylake & Meols (this ward covers the Hoylake side of West Kirby):

The Councillors for West Kirby / Thurstaston:
davidelderton@wirral.gov.uk (though David Elderton is restricted from giving his personal views as he is on the Planning Committee)

The Council Cabinet

Members of the Council Cabinet
  • Steve Foulkes - stevefoulkes@wirral.gov.uk
Chair and Cabinet Member for Finance and Best Value
8 Snowdrop Avenue, Claughton CH41 0EA

  • Simon Holbrook - simonholbrook@wirral.gov.uk
Vice Chair and Cabinet Member for Corporate Services
20 Reedville, Oxton, Birkenhead, CH43 4UH

  • Jean Stapleton - jeanstapleton@wirral.gov.uk
Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Planning Strategy
85 Grange Road West, Birkenhead, Wirral, CH43 4XB

  • Stuart Kelly - stuartkelly@wirral.gov.uk
Cabinet Member for Community and Customer Engagement
37 Tabley Close, Oxton, Wirral, CH43 2LB

  • Jean Quinn - jeanquinn@wirral.gov.uk
Cabinet Member for Streetscene and Transport Services
84 Black Horse Hill, West Kirby, Wirral, CH48 6DT

  • Gill Gardiner - gillgardiner@wirral.gov.uk
Cabinet Member for Environment
173 South Parade, West Kirby, Wirral, CH48 3HX

  • Bob Moon - bobmoon@wirral.gov.uk
Cabinet Member for Culture, Tourism and Leisure
68 Fairway North, Bromborough, Wirral, CH62 3NA

  • Moira McLaughlin - moiramclaughlin@wirral.gov.uk
Cabinet Member for Social Care and Inclusion
15 Stoneleigh Grove, Rock Ferry, Wirral, CH42 4NH

  • Phillip Davies - phildavies@wirral.gov.uk
Cabinet Member for Children's Services and Lifelong Learning
9 Hillfield Drive, Pensby, Wirral, CH61 5UH

  • George Davies - georgedavies@wirral.gov.uk
Cabinet Member for Housing and Community Safety
46 Shamrock Road, Claughton, Birkenhead, Wirral, Merseyside, CH41 0EQ

They can be contacted with your views

Planning Committee

The Council Planning Committee is involved when the issues become the subject of a planning application. Other than Aldi, that would be the last stage of a process being progressed by reports brought by Officers for a decision by the Council Cabinet.

How to object:
When comments are invited, if you wish to oppose a development, write or email using the following structure:




Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to oppose the proposed development of [ ### ].

I oppose this development because:

[E.g. Loss of green space, no local need, loss of identity, increase in traffic, pressure on services, etc.]

I wish to be kept informed of any issues that may arise in relation to this development.

Yours sincerely,


Find who your local Councillors are from www.wirral.gov.uk/members/search.asp

Council officers

Council Officers with keys roles in the regeneration strategy
Mr Jim Wilkie
Deputy Chief Executive/Director of Corporate Services
Town Hall, Brighton Street, Wallasey, Wirral CH44 8ED

Mr Howard Mortimer
Special Initiatives Team
Town Hall, Brighton Street, Wallasey, Wirral CH44 8ED